

Friday 4th September, 2015

Dear Colleagues

We are delighted to be able to inform you that the Schools' Company, which has been named 'Learn Sheffield', was successfully incorporated during the summer and is now up and running. We would like to thank everyone from the college and the schools below who were able to become the founding members of the company. We know that there are other schools ready to join Learn Sheffield and we are looking forward to seeing the list of members grow rapidly throughout the autumn term.

Learn Sheffield founding members were as follows: Bradfield School, Chaucer School, Dobcroft Infants, Forge Valley School, Hallam Primary, Hillsborough Primary, King Ecgbert School, Lowfield Primary, Malin Bridge Primary, Meynell Primary, Newfield School, Rowan School, Sheffield College, Southey Green Primary, Tapton School, Tinsley Meadows Primary and Wisewood Primary.

At this time, we are also very pleased to announce two key appointments to the interim change team which will lead Learn Sheffield through its next phase of development. Stephen Betts, Headteacher of Malin Bridge Primary School, is now the Interim Chief Executive and Bev Nicholson, Executive Headteacher of Halfway Junior and Shortbrook Primary Federation, has been appointed as Interim Director of School Improvement. Stephen and Bev played leading roles in the development of Learn Sheffield through their involvement in the working groups which shaped the project throughout last year. We are confident that their energy and vision will give the company the right leadership at this exciting time. Stephen and Bev are already busy bringing together a growing team which is moving into its new base in the former CLC building on the Newfield and Talbot school site.

We, as members of the Interim Board of Learn Sheffield, are looking forward to working with the interim change team and all of you in the year ahead as we shape together the future direction of education in Sheffield.

Sincerely,

The Interim Board of Learn Sheffield

David Bowes (nominated by the Secondary School sector), Dean Linkhorn (nominated by the Specialist School sector), Councillor Geoff Smith (nominated by Sheffield City Council), Paul Stockley (nominated by the Primary School sector) & Darren Tidmarsh (nominated by Sheffield College)